Stumbling Towards Ecstasy

Creativity dedicated to the Heart, Mind, and Soul

NaNoWriMo- Wow! What a Challenge!

I’m trying the NaNoWriMo this year. For those who don’t know what it is, writers around the world take the month of November to focus on writing that novel they’ve always wanted to write. The goal is to write 50,000 words, 1667 words a day.

This is day 5. My learnings so far: 1) don’t schedule so much into my day, 2)writing something every day isn’t so hard and 3) let go of my inner critic.

I have a 6th and 8th grader in my house. I cook dinner most weeknights and our weekends are packed full as are almost every afternoon. And for health reasons I insist on working out every morning. Somewhere in there I get to write.

Hitting 1667 words in a day is tough and I’ve only done it twice in 5 days. But I’ve written at least 800 words every day except Sunday. Not so bad I figure.

And then there is my inner critic, that little voice that screams at me “You haven’t got the voice right!” “Where is the scene description?” “What happened to the heat?” The writer in me wants it to all go down with wonderful deep third and hit all the marks on intimacy, all while sorting out the plot. The pragmatist in me is happy that I’m getting plot and dialogue out. It’s a rough draft that no one else will see. One thing at a time critic!

So NaNo is good practice for me. I’m learning time management, to write every day, and to let go of that perfectionism that keeps me frozen in place.

Renee  

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo- Wow! What a Challenge!

  1. Great post! That pic is hilarious!

  2. Wow, that’s quite the picture! (Yet oddly, it’s getting me motivated to write. Hey, it works!)

Leave a Reply

